Caja Rural-Seguros RGA wins Tour of Turkey

Even though Southeast-Venezuela won last stage of 52nd Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey, Spanish team takes trophy

Other Haberleri Giriş Tarihi: 02 Mayıs 2016 Pazartesi 08:09

Spanish team Caja Rural-Seguros RGA emerged as champions of the 52nd Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey with Portuguese cyclist Jose Goncalves getting crowned as tour leader at the end of the last stage Sunday.

A total of 128 cyclists from 16 teams competed in the eight-stage tour, covering 1,265.7 kilometers (786.5 miles).

According to results posted on the tour's official website, Italian cyclist Jakub Mareczko racing for the Southeast-Venezuela team won the eight and final stage.

Mareczko won the 201.7-kilometer (125.3-mile) long Marmaris-Selcuk stage in five hours, 46 minutes and 24 seconds for his Italy-based team. The stage started in southern Mugla province and ended in western Izmir province.

Another Italian cylist, Sacha Modolo from Lampre-Merida came in second, while Argentinian Paiva Francisco Ramon Chamorro competing for Funvic Soul Cycles-Carrefour team, based in Brazil, finished third.

The Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey started in 1963 as the Marmara Tourand gained an international status for the first time in 1965.